The Catholic Diocese of Port Elizabeth

banner1A diocese is a portion of the people of God within a geographical area, entrusted to the pastoral care of a Bishop, who is assisted in his ministry by auxiliary bishops, priests, and deacons. The diocese remains close to its pastor and is gathered by him through the Gospel and the Eucharist in the Holy Spirit to constitute a particular local church. In this Church, the one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church of Christ truly exists and functions. (cf. Code of Canon Law, 369)

The Diocese of Port Elizabeth stretches from the Kouga region (Humansdorp, Jeffreys Bay) in the west to East London in the east, along the coast, and as far inland as the town of Craddock, It also includes Grahamstown, King Williams Town and Bisho (the provincial capital). It covers an area of just under 72 000 sq km, and serves the needs of apprximately 120 000 Catholics (or 3.7% of the total population of the area). The diocese contains 43 parishes, and is home to 57 priests and 29 permament deacons.

The diocese is under the leadership of Bishop Vincent Mduduzi Zungu OFM, who was appointed on February 2, 2014, and ordained on June 28, 2014.

Daily Liturgy

sacatholic ad

Click on ad

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by